Affiliate Link

Ordinance of Secession of Florida

We, the people of the State of Florida in Convention assembled, do solemnly ordain, publish and declare: That the State of Florida hereby withdraws herself from the Confederacy of States existing under the name of the United States of America, and from the existing Government of said States: and that all political connection between her and the Government of said States ought to be and the same is hereby totally annulled, and said union of States dissolved: and the State of Florida is hereby declared a Sovereign and Independent Nation: and that all ordinances heretofore adopted in so far as they create or recognize said Union, are rescinded: and all laws or parts of laws in force in this State, in so far as they recognize or assent to said Union be and they are hereby repealed.

Done in open Convention, January 10th. A.D. 1861.

John C. McGehee President.
A.W. Nicholson S. J. Baker Jackson Morton Abraham Kyrkyndale Allison
A. J. T. Wright S. B. Stephens E. E. Simpson Danl Ladd John Beard
R. D. Jordan Freeman B. Irwin David Lewis James Kirksey
Adam McNealy McQueen McIntosh Thompson B. Lamar G. W. Parkhill
Thomas Y. Henry Saml W. Spencer J. Patton Anderson Geo. T. Ward
E. C. Love D. D. McLean Thomas M. Palmer W. G. M. Davis
A. J. Lea Lewis A. Folsom William S. Dilworth Joseph Thomas
W. H. Sever Green H. Hunter J. M. Daniel Mathew Solana
E. P. Barronton Jas. A. Newman T. J. Hendrick Jas. O. Devall
Joseph Finegan Arthur J. T. Wright J. P. Sanderson R. G. Mays
James G. Cooper Isaac S. Coon Jas. B. Owens John C. Pelot
Jas. H. Chandler John J. Lamb Summerfield M. G. Gary James B. Dawkins
David G. Leigh Isaac N. Rutland W. McGahagin William W. Woodruff
James Gettis Wm. Pinkney Asa F. Tift W. B. Yates
S. S. Alderman Winer Bethel James L. G. Baker John Morrison
Alexander L. McCaskill Joseph A. Collier of Jacksonville
Attest. William S. Harris, Secretary.